Upcoming Events

There are no upcoming MOQBA events announced at this time. Check back later for an updated calendar.

2019 MOQBA Values Award

Presented March 2, 2019

The mission of the Missouri Quizbowl Alliance is to provide opportunities for high-quality academic competition throughout the state of Missouri. As part of that mission, the Missouri Quizbowl Alliance seeks to recognize those students who not only exemplify the core values of sportsmanship, fairness, and integrity, but are above and beyond shining examples to their peers.

Sophie Lockwood of Hallsville High School and Em Powers of Louisiana High School have embodied the values of what it means to be great competitors and great friends. From invitationals to nationals, they have competed against each other in some of our game’s most pressure-intensive situations and through it all remained as supportive of each other as they have been competitive with each other. Their sportsmanship has garnered the attention of several tournament directors, staff, and their peers. NAQT published a photo of them embracing as they received their awards as the top two individuals of the 2018 NAQT Small School Nationals, which means that much more than the accomplishment because the accomplishment was tinted with the mutual admiration they shared. Their conduct is a sterling example for all in this game that how we treat one another means more than any title or medal. Sophie and Em will be remembered for their camaraderie as much as, if not more than, their amazing rivalry as two titans of Missouri's top small schools in this time in Missouri quizbowl.

The Missouri Quizbowl Alliance commends Sophie and Em for their expression of MOQBA's core values and will recognize them by publicizing the award upon the MOQBA website and by presenting them with plaques and certificates as part of the 2019 NAQT Missouri State Qualifier ceremonies held on March 2, 2019.

So supported and signed by the membership of the Missouri Quizbowl Alliance as of March 2, 2019.

Jeffrey Hill, President
Jacob O'Rourke, Secretary
on behalf of the Missouri Quizbowl Alliance: Scott Allen, Jacob Billingsley, Audrey Brandon, Matt Chadbourne, Brandon Daake, Jon Deering, David Dennis, Alex Dzurick, Ted Hall, Kyle Hill, Stephanie Hull, Malia Jolly, Jason Loy, Ginger Luetkemeyer, Josh Malecki, Lisa McClary, Michael McDonald, Paul Nelson, Sean Phillips, Jason Pounds, Alex Smith, Amy Sternke, Kevin Stockman, Shelley Swoyer, Christina Whelehon and Tara Winn.