Upcoming Events

There are no upcoming MOQBA events announced at this time. Check back later for an updated calendar.

2023 MOQBA Award for Outstanding Student Involvement

Presented to Ethan Smith, Troy Buchanan High School

The MOQBA Award for Outstanding Student Involvement was presented to Ethan Smith of Troy Buchanan High School in 2023, for his dedication to staffing area tournaments when his team isn't competing.

March 4, 2023

The mission of the Missouri Quizbowl Alliance is to provide opportunities for high-quality academic competition throughout the state of Missouri. As part of that mission, the Missouri Quizbowl Alliance seeks to recognize outstanding involvement by students who work to improve the game of quizbowl in this state.

Ethan Smith of Troy Buchanan High School has shown an exceptional level of dedication for quizbowl beyond simply competing for his school teams. Ethan is always willing to staff tournaments for which Troy Buchanan is not registered, even if they're not exactly in his backyard. Ethan's generosity with his time to help quizbowl as a whole makes him more than deserving of this award.

The Missouri Quizbowl Alliance commends Ethan for his significant efforts in promoting high-quality academic competition in Missouri and will recognize these efforts by publicizing the award upon the MOQBA website and by presenting him with a plaque and certificate as part of the 2023 NAQT Missouri State Qualifier ceremonies held on March 4, 2023.

So supported and signed by the membership of the Missouri Quizbowl Alliance as of March 4, 2023.

Jeffrey Hill, President
Jacob O'Rourke, Secretary
on behalf of the Missouri Quizbowl Alliance: Scott Allen, Jacob Billingsley, Peter Bonello, Audrey Brandon, Julie Burchett, Jeff Carter, Matt Chadbourne, Brandon Daake, Jon Deering, David Dennis, Alex Dzurick, Ganon Evans, Ted Hall, Kyle Hill, Stephanie Hull, Malia Jolly, Jason Loy, Ginger Luetkemeyer, Josh Malecki, Lisa McClary, Michael McDonald, Michael Menkhus, Paul Nelson, Pat O’Keefe, Angie Odom, Sean Phillips, Jason Pounds, Max Ryle, Dale Schenewerk, Alex Smith, Kevin Stockman, Shelley Swoyer, Michelle Wahlquist, Scott Walker, Christina Whelehon and Tara Winn.