Upcoming Events

There are no upcoming MOQBA events announced at this time. Check back later for an updated calendar.

2015 MOQBA Award for Outstanding Student Involvement

Presented to Jared Lockwood, Hallsville High School

The MOQBA Award for Outstanding Student Involvement was presented to Jared Lockwood of Hallsville High School in 2015, for his numerous commitments to coaching, mentoring, and writing for elementary and middle school quizbowl players.

March 7, 2015

The mission of the Missouri Quizbowl Alliance is to provide opportunities for high-quality academic competition throughout the state of Missouri. As part of that mission, the Missouri Quizbowl Alliance seeks to recognize outstanding involvement by students who work to improve the game of quizbowl in this state.

Hallsville High School student Jared Lockwood has taken on a number of activities to encourage and sustain participation in quizbowl by elementary and middle school students. Among his accomplishments to date:

  1. founding a quizbowl team at Hallsville Intermediate School;
  2. writing questions for and leading practices with younger Hallsville students;
  3. enlisting the support of elementary school teachers for quizbowl activities;
  4. volunteering as a moderator for elementary, middle school and JV tournaments;
  5. and serving as a writer for SAGES, an elementary-level quizbowl question set.

The Missouri Quizbowl Alliance commends Jared for his significant efforts in promoting high-quality academic competition in Missouri and will recognize these efforts by publicizing the award upon the MOQBA website and by presenting him with a plaque and certificate as part of the 2015 NAQT Missouri State Qualifier ceremonies held on March 7, 2015.

So supported and signed by the membership of the Missouri Quizbowl Alliance as of March 7, 2015.

Jeffrey Hill, President
Alex Dzurick, Secretary
on behalf of the Missouri Quizbowl Alliance: Scott Allen, Jacob Billingsley, Matt Chadbourne, Brandon Daake, David Dennis, Spencer Fish, Phillip George, Samantha Haynes, Kyle Hill, Ryan Kennedy, Jason Loy, Paul Nelson, Jacob O'Rourke, Sean Phillips, Sam Ruesing, Nick Rupel, Abdullah Shoaib, Alex Smith, Joey Spicer, Kevin Stockman and Christina Whelehon