Upcoming Events

There are no upcoming MOQBA events announced at this time. Check back later for an updated calendar.

2024 NAQT Missouri Qualifier Recap

Thirty-six teams from thirty-three schools attended the 2024 NAQT Missouri Qualifier at Columbia College on March 2, 2024, which was the first Qualifier played with timed halves.

The teams were initially divided into 6 pools of 6 for preliminary rounds 1-5.

The top 2 teams in each pool advanced to the championship tier, remaining eligible to win the tournament. The third place teams advanced to Consolation 1, the fourth place teams to Consolation 2, the fifth place teams to Consolation 3, and the sixth place teams to Consolation 4. Each consolation pool played a round robin in rounds 6-10.

In the championship tier, two roughly equal pools were seeded based on the points per bonus of the top team from each preliminary pool, with the corresponding second place teams advancing to the same pool. This resulted in two parallel pools consisting of the first and second place teams from three of the pools. Each of these pools played a crossover playoff, with games in rounds 6-9 and one preliminary game carrying over.

After round 9, College Heights Christian, Parkway West, Mexico A, and Priory advanced to the top 4 superplayoffs. Following round 11, Mexico A was undefeated and Priory had only lost to Mexico, beginning an advantaged final, with Mexico holding the advantage. Mexico won the first game 295-280 to win the overall NAQT Missouri Qualifier title! College Heights Christian was third and Parkway West was fourth.

Fair Grove won the first game of an advantaged final 280-180 over Clever to earn the small school title for the third consecutive year. As the only eligible team to advance to Consolation 2, Weaubleau was declared the Very Small School champion. With their second place finish overall, Priory was the inaugural small school Open division champion.

Links to schedules and statistics are available on the 2024 NAQT Missouri Qualifier index page.

The top 15% (6 teams) qualified for the NAQT High School National Championship Tournament on May 24-26 in Atlanta. Congratulations to Mexico A, Priory, College Heights Christian, Parkway West, Ladue, and St. Joseph Central for qualifying at this tournament!

Of our 36 teams, we had 10 small school eligible teams, 4 very small school eligible teams, and 7 small school Open division teams, continuing Missouri's tradition of strong quizbowl participation by smaller schools. The top 30% teams in the small school and small school Open divisions (3 teams each) have qualified for the NAQT Small School National Championship Tournament on April 26-28 in Chicago. Congratulations to Fair Grove, Clever, and Centralia for qualifying for the Traditional Public division and to Priory, College Heights Christian, and Columbia Independent A for qualifying for the Open division of SSNCT!

(All projected bids to NAQT national championships are pending official confirmation from NAQT.)

The top 20% (8 teams) qualified for the PACE National Scholastic Championship in the Washington D.C. area on June 8-9. Congratulations to Mexico A, Priory, College Heights Christian, Parkway West, Ladue, St. Joseph Central, Washington, and Fair Grove for qualifying at this tournament.

Our first timed tournament could not have run as smoothly as it did without the generosity and dedication of our amazing staff, including Clay Bocke, Whitney Kertz, and Rachael Walker from Westran; Gabe Forrest, Brendan Fuller, Abigail Gilmartin, Jordan Henson, Jamison Jeffries, Connor Lee, Joel Miles, Kylan Powell, Kat Ray, and Alex Roettgen; coaches Andrew Darr, David Dennis, Spencer Fish, Sondra Kekec, Shelly Kiesling, Diana Lehman, Ginger Luetkemeyer, Shawnna Matteson, Jean Miller, Ben Nims, Marteen Nolan, Sarah Roth, and Patrick Troy; and fellow MOQBA members Kathy Brandon, Ganon Evans, Fred Garvey, Audrey Kierstead, Paul Nelson, Sean Phillips, Jason Pounds, Donal Ryan, Shelley Swoyer, and June Yin. We'd also like to thank coach Kris Liesmann for registering to staff and the other coaches who offered to help if needed.

Special thanks go to Kyle Hill for his continued support developing HILLSheets; coach Dale Schenewerk for leading teams to New Hall after the team meetings; and everyone who assisted with setup and cleanup tasks. Our biggest thanks go to Michael Menkhus and Jacob O'Rourke for their critical assistance with several important tasks on Saturday morning to keep us on track starting the tournament, and to Jacob for entering the statistics into YellowFruit, handling payments, running most of the opening meeting, and obtaining the trophies and medals.

In addition, we continue to be amazed by the incredible support we always receive from Columbia College. The assistance of Kristen Neeley, Selena Houk, the Technology Services team, Campus Safety, and the rest of the Columbia College team is critical to ensuring these tournaments run as smoothly as they do. We look forward to collaborating with Columbia College on future tournaments and anticipate returning to campus again for next season's tournaments.

Thank you once again for attending the 2024 Qualifier! We wish you the best of luck as you compete the rest of this season.

Jeffrey Hill and Matt Chadbourne
2024 NAQT Missouri Qualifier co-directors